Reclaiming the Sunshine State as ‘home’ comes with clear intentions

After four eventful years living in Central Texas, I’ve decided to relocate back to Florida. Now I’m on the hunt for my next major career opportunity in the city I’ll call home.DSC_0176When I moved to Austin in 2012, I went with a free-to-be-me mindset and no specific intention – other than the quest to live in the hottest city in America, boasting opportunity and like-minded peeps. The Live Music Capital has certainly filled my soul with exceptional entertainment and fueled my creative spirit with the eclectic energy that keeps the city vibrant. During my time in Texas, I built my own PR consultancy, represented world-renown clients, and taught at Texas State. I forged friendships with exceptional pros while serving on the PRSA Austin board, and my heart was made fuller through homeless outreach with Mobile Loaves & Fishes.

During the course of four years, a great amount has changed in Austin. And the same applies to me. I’m not the same person. I’ve actually changed dramatically – both my purview and my priorities. As I evaluate what’s best for me in this next stage of life, there are four major considerations that come into play.

1. Career: I’m trading in freedom and autonomy for structure and teamwork. It’s been exhilarating to develop my own company, secure my own clients and deliver services in a uniquely SHEEHY creative style. But today, I’m ready to resign from entrepreneurship. It’s time for me to join a company where I can flourish as a professional, but also find balance personally. When you’re self-employed, the “always on” mentality doesn’t quit, nor do all the additional stressors that factor in to running a successful business. Most notably, I can’t wait to be a part of a team again. I genuinely crave water cooler chat. I thrive while being inventive among my peers, and I’m seeking the perfect opportunity to do so.

IMG_1176 6.jpg2. Closeness to the ocean = regular physical activity – There’s something awe-inspiring about living near the ocean that promotes physical wellness. And with this move back to Florida, proximity to the beach is a priority for me. Not only do I dream of running along sandy white beaches, but paddle boarding and yoga on the beach sound like pure heaven. In order to be my best self, my physical environment must boast serenity and there’s nothing better than a Florida beach.

3. My people are my backbone – As I get older, I crave regular time with my family and dear friends, and the majority of them still live in Florida. Being closer to my loved ones is a driving decision to return home. I’m also looking forward to spending quality time with my friends’ children and strengthening our rapport. Back at December, I enjoyed goofing off with my best friend’s son and can’t wait for more moments like these.IMG_0573.jpg4. Choosing joy and finding peace in the simple moments. It’s been said, “People come into your life for a reason, season and a lifetime” and this summarizes my Texas experience. I’m incredibly grateful for the individuals who have shaped the woman I am today and look forward to growing our friendship — even while across country. Even though my journey to Texas was in fact larger than life, today, I desire a different way of being. I joyfully chose new ways of living, listening and loving, and I can’t wait to see what the future has in store.

With all this in mind, now I have to pinpoint the next city that I’ll call home? I’m considering St. Petersburg, Fort Myers and Fort Lauderdale. All are close to family and friends. All have beautiful beaches. And I’m assuming each have interesting career opportunities that I’ll soon discover.

Have suggestions, job opportunities, words of encouragement, want to reconnect? Email me at ryan@sheehycreative.com. I’m open to the possibilities!Home

Leave a Reply

